Dr. Feelgood

Basse : John B. "Sparko" Sparks
Batterie : John "The Big Figure" Martin
Guitare : Wilko Johnson
Voix / Harmonica : Lee Brilleaux

Live At The BBC 1974-5

Année : Juin 1999
Label : Grand 22
Enregistré : Du 25 mars 1974 au 4 septembre 1975 au Théâtre de Paris à Londres

1. My Baby, Your Baby (Traditional)
2. I'm Talking About You
3. One Weekend
4. Rock Me Baby
(Josea, King)
5. Bonie Moronie/Tequilla
6. She Does It Right
7. Twenty Yards Behind
8. The More I Give
9. Boom Boom
10. All Through The City
11. Talk To Me Baby
12. Route 66
(Doctor Feelgood)
13. I Can Tell
(McDaniel, Smith)
14. Going Back Home
(Green, Johnson)
15. Don't You Just Know It
(Smith, Vincent)
16. Roxette
17. Another Man
18. I Don't Mind
19. Riot in Cell Block #9
(Leiber, Stoller)
20. Rollin' And Tumblin'
21. You Shouldn't Call the Doctor (If You Can't Afford The Bills)

Article de Michael Heatley © Classic Rock (1999)

1972 and still going strong – would deny that 1976’s chart-topping 'Stupidity' was the original quartet's definitive statement. Brilleaux, Wilko, Sparko and the Figure live and in their element were enough to topple the mighty Abba, if only for a week.

These BBC sessions, culled from three In Concert performances (March ‘74, January ‘75 and September'75), are therefore more than second helpings - they're the equivalent of the Holy Grail. With 21 songs crammed into an hour, this is good ol'-fashioned R&B at its brilliant best.

Singer Lee Brilleaux is sadly no longer with us-but Wilko Johnson most certainly is. 'Going Back Home' takes its title from a Feelgood classic, yet all 11 tracks herein are new ; the man rarely coasts on former glories. Yetjust as 'Stupidity' outperformed its studio counterparts, these are songs designed to be heard live, where Wilko's three-piece band really shines. The closing ‘Some Kind Of Hero' has already titled a fanzine and has claims to be an anthem of sorts. File under 'W' for Wilko - or Workmanlike.


Décès de Dean Kennedy
17 Mars 2019

Concert du 10 mars 1992
15 Août 2018

Nouvel album de Wilko Johnson : sortie le 15 juin
10 Mai 2018

Décès de John Butterfield
12 Avril 2018

Wilko Johnson travaille sur un nouvel album
11 Mai 2017

Nouvelle biographie sur Lee Brilleaux
27 Novembre 2016

Docteur Wilko Johnson
20 Novembre 2016

31 Décembre 2019
Wilko Johnson
Les concerts à venir...
... sur le site officiel

31 Décembre 2019
Dr Feelgood
Les concerts à venir...
... sur le site officiel

Document sans titre

© Dr Feelgood & Lucie Lebens - Tous droits réservés
In Memory of Lee Brilleaux & Gypie Mayo